No matter how well we feel we handle our grief, there are days when grief hits us hard. I notice that I start missing my dad more when I’m feeling overwhelmed, stressed and tired. More and more I make time for “quiet outdoor nature time.” This helps me a hundred fold to sort through my thoughts, focus on my love for dad, and realize how much of it is the exhaustion, stress or chaos and how much is really the grief speaking.

Today I took some quiet time and sat on the end of the fishing pier I enjoy near the beach and watched the herons, ducks and pelicans. That twenty minutes brought me a lot of peace and gave me some time to focus on the good in my life and what my father’s love brought into my life. It didn’t automatically make my day better, but it made my attitude about my day better, and gave me an incredible sense of peace to enjoy nature for a time.

