Nearly a year before my mom even knew she had cancer
she began keeping a journal for me. In it she put her thoughts,
ideas and motherly advice. Along with that she placed this quote
that she had cut from a newspaper. I found it after her death.
It is a comforting quote. I don’t know who to attribute it to,
but it is lovely.

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow;
I am the diamond glints on the snow,
I am the sunlight on ripened grain;
I am the gentle autumn’s rain.
When you awaken in the mornings hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft star that shines at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry.
I am not there I did not die.”

2 Responses to “A Healing Quote”

  1. Sam Foster Says:

    Dear Lisa:
    This poem is anynomous. It became famous when it was read at John Wayne’s funeral. My husband loved both the poem and John Wayne and asked me to read it at his mother’s funeral, which I did in 1983.
    Sam


  2. Sam, Thanks so much for sharing where the poem came from. It’s wonderful that you knew the poem and had read it for your mother in laws funeral. I love the poem it is very beautiful! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

